What components to get apart from Arduino ?

I am a noob to both Arduino and electronics. I got a UNO-R3, and have been playing with the sample projects - but as I got addicted, I feel my UNO board is not enough... there are examples to control ethernet, sound, motors and multiple things I am new to.
My request is for some suggestion as to what new things am I supposed to add to my kit - for now I have just some wires, LEDs, resistors and capacitors. These are what I can think of :

1. Potentiometer
  2. Speakers
  3. Light Sensors
  4. Servo Motors
    But I am not sure should I buy all of them.. or any particular configuration I should look for.. or I need some other important stuff ! Would like to know what the community did after getting the basics of Arduino.

Thanks in anticipation !

By light sensor I guess you mean like LDRs?- Light Dependent Resistor? They're fun.... I stuck one on the end of a servo horn and had the servo "hunt" for light....

I'd get a few small transistors too, BC547 style. You can then pretend the LEDs can't be run directly from a digital pin and switch them on and off with a transistor as if they were "real" plant as shown here.

Maybe also a couple of cheap toy DC motors, run them with the transistor, remembering to read up on the need for a diode...

Have a search across various Arduino supplier sites- they tend to have pre-packed sets of odds and ends.

JimboZA:
Have a search across various Arduino supplier sites- they tend to have pre-packed sets of odds and ends.

This.