multi digit inputs and masked inputs while using Hyper Terminal

I’m very frustrated. I’m very new to arduino and having lots of trouble. I took a class in C++ about 5 years ago but have probably forgotten more than I remember. I’ve looked at several examples and tutorials yet I can’t seem to find simple answers to my simple questions. My project is 90% software and most examples online involve wiring up a bunch of buttons and LEDs. What I would like is someone who could basically walk me through some stuff to get me started. Yes, hand holding. I’ve been struggling with trying to decipher “helpful hints” and search the web for a couple weeks and am about ready to just quit. Can someone please help?

The basic questions: I wish to use an uno to accept and store data to be retrieved or updated later. For instance upon initializing the program typing “I” would display an ID number which can be saved or modified. Typing “M” would display a Model number which can also be saved or modified. Here is my code so far…

int long ID = 10000000;
int long ModelNumber = 0;
String readString;

void setup() {
Serial.begin(9600));
}
void loop() {

if (Serial.available() > 0) {

int incomingByte = Serial.read();

switch(incomingByte){

case ‘I’:

Serial.print (“ID number is      “);
Serial.print (ID);
while(Serial.available() == 0)
{
// Causes the program to wait for the next input
}
//Following while statement and if statement make
//that input into a string

while (Serial.available())
{
delay(2);
char c = Serial.read();
readString += c;
}
if (readString.length()>0)
{
char carray[readString.length() + 1];
readString.toCharArray(carray,sizeof(carray));
long f = atol(carray);
ID = f;
readString = “”;
readString[8];
}
Serial.print (“    “);
Serial.println (ID);
Serial.print (“ID number is now   “);
Serial.println (ID);
break;

case ‘M’: 

Serial.print (“Input model number.       “);
while(Serial.available() == 0)
{
// Causes the program to wait for the next input
}