HC-SR04 Ultrasonic Sensor Simple Project

Hi I am trying to do this project from http://arduinobasics.blogspot.gr/2012/11/arduinobasics-hc-sr04-ultrasonic-sensor.html?showComment=1399056576259#c2818655084083635801

I did everything as shown and the result is the image below. When i hover my hand in the sensor nothing happens...what am i doing wrong? :confused:

What does the serial debug look like?

AWOL:

What do you mean? I started using arduino yesterday. I am somehow newbie with some 'keywords' :confused:

xmarkx:

AWOL:

What do you mean? I started using arduino yesterday. I am somehow newbie with some 'keywords' :confused:

So who has been posting on your account for the last three weeks? :wink:

Serial debug is the result of the serial prints in your sketch, when viewed on the serial monitor.

I was! But the projects i did and the questions i asked didnt contain every keyword that is relative with arduino...I am still learning man! :slight_smile: Sorry for the 'idiotic' questions/answers...

I am using this Download Processing / Processing.org.

1. I copy paste the code.
  2. I saved to a file
  3. Clicked on run.

the result is in the image above. I have double monitors so whatever you see I see. There is no output on the IDE that you are missing. btw if you cannot come up with something, whats the best way of debugging here?

Should I try debuging like I do in C language? :confused: or its waste of time?

Hi xmarkx

The Arduino Basics website page has two programs: one to run on the Arduino and the other to run on your PC. You need both working together and communicating for the project to work overall.

The PC one uses the Processing language and you posted the link to Processing. And from your screenshot, it looks like that program is running.

But have you taken the Arduino program from the Arduino Basics website and put that on your Arduino , using the Arduino IDE?

Cheers

Ray