Arduino PWM over radio

Hello,

I'm looking for some general guidance on a project I'm working on.
Basically, currently I have an Arduino receiving MIDI serial data with brightness curves which are drawn out to lighting arrays using the PWM outputs on the Arduino (through a transistor).

What I'd like to do is create a number of small, cheap-to-build radio receivers which will draw out the same light patterns on a small LED array (think a handheld device).

Rather than have the Arduino transmit the patterns digitally (as this would require another Arduino on the other end), I'd like to know if it's possible/economically viable to transmit the PWM waveform over radio and recieve it using analog components (I'd guess an op-amp, maybe a transistor...)

I've never done any radio communication before but I understand the basics. Are there any limitations I could run into that would make this difficult?

Thanks,
Drew

Yep, just single channel. Distance wouldn't be much (it's for a performance so think stage to audience in a bar)... Optimally, not much of a receiver antenna. The idea is that the receiver is a handheld device. I guess I could increase the Tx power and set up a decent antenna (non-directional).

Any idea of what kind of TX/RX modules I might be looking at? Digikey has oodles of RF stuff but it all seems intended for digital communication.

Thanks!
Drew

Also, any assistance with the specifics of implementing one of these on the receiving end (analog) would be much appreciated, though I can take that to a different forum here.

There are plenty of schematics on the Tx side from Arduino but I'm a bit stumped as to in-circuit implementation of a reciever.

Yep, all displaying the same thing. Thanks for those links! It's good to see what would work. Quick question - these RF transmitters/recievers all give their "data rate" and have "digital out", etc. making it seem like it's made for digital. Sending an analog waveform through would still work?