multiple encoders

dear forum

in a project i am working on i want to connect 12 rotary encoders to the arduino board.
and my general question to you is how to achieve this the best.
i already found some stuf about d-flipflop's so that CW and CCW rotation are just pulses on 2 different inputs.
but my main concern is that because this project als needs to read other inputs, and needs to send on other outputs i will meaby miss a few pulses thus resulting in a none-reliable result.
a other thing i came up with is to use a giant OR-poort on a interupt iput
so that if aCW rotation or a CCW rotation is monitord it will trigger an interupt and then read out wich one of the encoders is sending pulses

I would very much like to hear your thought in this matter since i have never worked with interupts before

If the encoders will be running slow you could hook several up to and arduino - but only if they are running slow. For high speed you would need to use interrupts and then the problem becomes missed interrupts. You might consider using something like an ATtiny2313 and then communicating back to a master processor.

Encoders have an A and a B output. Tieing A to and interrupt pin and B to an input. On interrupt from A check B and if HIGH add 1 to PositionVar, if B is low Subtract 1 from PositionVar.

For higher speed encoders you may need to use assembly language (a little more difficult, but much faster, more responsibility on you and less on the compiler...)

going dual core on this project was something i really wanted to avoid.
but could the idea of using D-flipflops and a giant OR-port work ? pros and cons?

The ting with the D-flipflops is really similar to the ls7183 for clarification

12 Encoders make it difficult to do in one device. As mentioned, if the pulses are coming at 100 Hz or less then you can probably do it with one Arduino, but if you have 12 non-synchronous inputs at 1 KHz or more, It is likely you would miss pulses.