Question: Read external-powered switch state by Arduino

Hi,

I am a newbie to Electronics as well as Arduino. Currently, I facing a very basic problem and I think someone can help me easily.
Today, I played with an old fuel dispenser board. There is a switch solder on it - you can see my picture below. There were 2 connector in the switch, the left was connected to 12v source, the right connect to ground (I guess). I used a multimeter and measure the 12 volt between the left and the right connector of the switch.
How can I read the button state with Arduino? I want to use a minimum of wire so how many wire at least I do need to solve this?
Thank you,
English is not my native language, I hope you will not mind.

Here's the photo from the OP's post:

And, here's a way to do it:

Connect "To Switch" probably to the terminal without the red wire. But, if that doesn't work, then try the one with the red wire connected to it. Either way, it shouldn't damage anything. If neither connection works, then the switch is not on the "high Side", and the other side of the switch is either not being pulled up to 12V, or the pull up "resistor" [since I can't be sure what is really going on] is of a value that is not allowing a high enough voltage to appear at D2, thus not being interpreted as a HIGH by the Arduino. In which case, some measurements will need to be made [ask].

Then, you need to find a "Ground" on that circuit board. Not sure how to advise you, there.

The two diodes are not mandatory, but I put them there to make this as fool proof as possible. They help to protect the input from over and under voltage conditions.