Arduino Forum

Products => Arduino Due => Topic started by: knuckles on Dec 20, 2012, 02:46 pm

Title: Due relies on bossac ,whats that ?
Post by: knuckles on Dec 20, 2012, 02:46 pm
just curious to know a full explanation of what is bossac for when i buy a Due.
google search shows not much on bossac.
due relies on bossac it says on the due page
Title: Re: Due relies on bossac ,whats that ?
Post by: stimmer on Dec 20, 2012, 05:17 pm
Search for bossa instead (well, maybe 'atmel bossa' would be better unless you like samba :) )

These are the sites: http://sourceforge.net/projects/b-o-s-s-a/ http://www.shumatech.com/web/products/bossa
Title: Re: Due relies on bossac ,whats that ?
Post by: knuckles on Dec 20, 2012, 11:54 pm
why not just stick with a atmel studio 6 and a avrisp programmer?
Title: Re: Due relies on bossac ,whats that ?
Post by: mbanzi on Dec 21, 2012, 09:45 am
knuckles

because the Due is based on an ARM processor and avrisp is not compatible in any way..

on a different note, If arduino had used ATMEL Studio as its IDE, there would be maybe a couple of hundred people on this forum...

m
Title: Re: Due relies on bossac ,whats that ?
Post by: knuckles on Dec 22, 2012, 05:30 pm
ok i get that ,atmel SAM BA or bossa ,but what programmer do you use in place of avrisp II?
surely atmel wouldnt issue a range of SAM 32 bit chips without creating a device for programming the SAM series of chips ? a jtag ice device or something else ??
i have a SAM4 evaluation kit but wondering how i program it .
Title: Re: Due relies on bossac ,whats that ?
Post by: knuckles on Dec 22, 2012, 06:50 pm
looks like a flasher ARM programer at a 1000 $.
Title: Re: Due relies on bossac ,whats that ?
Post by: knuckles on Dec 22, 2012, 07:32 pm
this may be relevant

http://www.futurlec.com/News/Atmel/Studio6.shtml