RS485 why?

Hi guys!
In my project i use 3 arduinos to communicate over RS485.
I am still at prototype, but o got an issue wich i solved, and dont undestand why.

1 master 2 slaves.
i am using those RS485 modules sold everywhere for arduinio.

The behaviour before:
Master sends message to slave 1 and receive wrong response.
Master sends message to slave 2 and receive wrong response.

After some trial and error, i discovered that if i connect the A to +, using a resitor
and B to - using other resistor, i got the system talk fine.

My question is: Why do i need to connect A and B to + and - can some one explain me?
Looking at module diagram, this connections are already made.

I used 220ohm resistors. (were the ones i had at hand)

Thanks

Try this explanation....

https://www.gammon.com.au/forum/?id=11428

Hello,

I'm not an expert about RS485 networks, but I do know that typically you will need a resistor if you network things, so certain parts of your circuit will not be floating and are pulled down to provide a 0.
Here is a video that explain RS485 networking pretty good, in my humble opinion.

I hope this helps you to be successful in your project,

with regards,

Mike

Gammon's electrical connection example (see link from post #2) shows 680 Ohms between A and +5V and another 680 Ohms between B and 0V (or GND). These will pull the lines into a defined voltage should the DE pins all be disabled. If you don't force the lines into a defined range then some of the receivers (on the transceivers) will see a HIGH while others see a LOW, and noise will cause gibberish to show up on the RO pin of the transceiver.

Those resistors become a problem as the network grows. Some newer transceivers (e.g. ISL3172) have reduced that undefined range so it is possible to use twisted pair terminations alone and retain a clean RO output but all transceivers have to have the reduced undefined range (look for "failsafe biasing" info in the datasheet).