Should I Learn Arduino First or Buy a Starter Kit

Hello,
I'm a student from India. I am interested in electronics but have a limited budget. There are many companies in my locality which offer arduino training and also give a arduino clone with some other accessories. But at the same cost I get the arduino official starter kit. I am a complete beginner with hardware but I already have C and C++ training. I want to learn hardware part and use arduino with shields like Ethernet shield and XBEE shields for my projects. So what should I go for-

1. Arduino Training (Worth $100) + Arduino clone local Kit (Worth $20)
  2. Only Arduino Official Starter Kit (worth $135)

My parents told me buy a arduino if you have a good idea about it. So please tell me which should I prefer.

Regards,
Sarthak Sethi

Welcome.

I would ask the school for references of students who have taken the course. find someone who has a similar programming background and find out if the school teaches more about programming or more about electronics.

that will give you more information on what is being taught, and will answer your question better than we can.

If you can buy an Arduino clone for about $20 you could probably buy a lot of the parts in the starter kit for a further $20. A solderless breadboard, a few leds with resistors, a cheap digital multimeter and some wire to connect everything would allow you to do a lot of exploring.

The costly items that you mention are the Ethernet and Xbee shields.

Whether you should take the course is a slightly different question.

If you already know C/C++ then a programming course would be a waste of money in my view.