What I learned today: Flux is awesome!

I'm a total newb to all of this and have maybe made less than 100 solder joints in my life before this morning. I was using solder with a flux core and from what I heard though that would be good enough. But I was never happy with my solder joints. Enter flux. I bought flux gel or paste. (can't remember what it's called.) It's basically a thick deep amber colored goop. OMG it makes soldering SO much easier. So for any newb out there who is just getting into this my advise would be USE FLUX!

Sorry for all of you how probably know this already but I'd thought I'd share for any other newbs who are teaching themselves like I am.

P.S. I won't start a whole new thread for this but also buy desoldering braid. It comes in very handy as well.

desoldering braid. It comes in very handy as well

Desoldering braid works even better if you wet it before hand with some flux.

Good to know. I applied more to the board before using it. Kind of the same idea I guess. I had a big blob connecting 2 pads and swiping the iron point wasn't clearing it. Braid fixed it right up.

Like you, I never saw the value in flux. I was having trouble solder some old PCBs I found and decided to try it. It was like watching magic.

There are also "Flux Pens" out there. They are basically sponges soaked in a liquid flux, inside of a marker case. More expensive than the jelly (in terms of volume) but very convenient.

I find it very easy to wet de-solder braid with the Pen. (I never figured out a un-messy way to get the jelly on to the braid.)

Another amazing product for desoldering is CHIPQUIK, in case you have to work on large surfaces.
That product basically slows down the soldering process. Great product.