Interest in overhauling the IDE user interface?

Is there any interest and / or plans to overhaul the user interface of the GUI? While it is simple it feels very dated and could be far more user friendly.

I am new to Arduino and hardware hacking, but I am a UI expert and worked on the Swing team at Sun for five years (the IDE is written in Java Swing). I would love to help out on such a project.

Thanks,
Josh

What ideas do you have?

Josh
There are already quite some alternatives for the IDE.
There are mods which extend the IDE's functionality (I'm not so knowledgeable about these)
There are other tools which provide the Arduino IDE functionality and more. For instance eclipse plugin, avr studio, visual studio plugin,...

So instead of starting a new initiative I would advice you to look at the current initiatives and help those out. I'm sure they can use a good programmer (I'm sure I can) This is probably the best place to start looking at what is available Arduino Playground - DevelopmentTools

Best regards
Jantje

PS As I'm developing the eclipse plugin, I discussed the "IDE's next to Arduino" last week with David Cuartielles who told me he directed his students to eclipse . :slight_smile: A really nice way to flatter someone 8)

I love that there are professional quality alternative IDEs but that is no reason to let the main Arduino developer tool atrophy. We are talking about the first thing that a new user experiences. It should be as good as possible.

I suggest a two phased approach. First, implement a bunch of small fixes and improvements that increase usability without fundamentally adding anything new. Things like:

• Smooth fonts
  • Resize fonts with a shortcut (cmd+ and cmd- usually)
  • Match native key bindings. Right now certain keybindings are available in native apps that aren't there in the IDE. Ctrl-A for start of line, for example. (on Mac)