Unstable values while using servo motor

Hey guys,

I'm new to this Arduino world (and by now I love it!) so I don't understand the following issue:

I created a project from the Startkit Project Book ("mood barometer"?) where I control a servo with a potentiometer (see screenshot).

I'm wondering why the values aren't stable even when the motor is in position. So I made a measurement of the values (potential and angle) over a duration of about 10 seconds where I started at a potential of 0 (the values fluctuated a bit [from 0 to about 5]), held this for five seconds and raised it abruptly to the maximum of 1023. I held this level for 5 more seconds, then I stopped the measurement. The values at the maximum level fluctuated from 1023 down to 1011, back up and so on (see diagram) without any new input from the potentiometer!

Can anyone please explain me this?

Many thanks in advance!

Best regards
Stefan

schaltkreis_stimmungsparameter.png

schema_stimmungsparameter.png

Firstly its not a good idea to power a servo from the Arduino 5V, the peak current required by
a servo can be an amp or more.

But the most likely reason for you observations is that the servo current is running through the
same wires that go to your potentiometer, injecting IR voltages drops directly onto your measurements,
or put another way the analog input is measuring a combination of potentiometer position and servo current,
which you didn't intend.

Sensor power/ground should never share wiring with anything taking large currents, use a star-ground
configuration with the Arduino as the central point. You can mitigate by using much thicker wires and
soldering them in place (contact resistance needs to be eliminated), but that's pretty messy and
undesirable.