can't connect to UNO

Hi there,
i am new to arduino and just received my UNO ... i connected it under mac osx 10.5.8 and wanted to upload the first Blink-sketch.
Everytime i try, after compiling it tells me:

avrdude: stk500_recv(): programmer is not responding

any idea how to fix?
the default blinking of L-Led is also kinda unsteady (4xlong, 1xshort) ...

thank you for advice,
cheers! mploj

sounds like the exact issue Im having as well as many others and so far I have not seen a solution. Im going to try my uno on a windows 7 machine to see if it works there and I will inform you on the results. can you print your verbose output? (press and hold shift as you upload)

This is normal for a new Uno (with a preloaded sketch).

Haha I was waiting for someone to take a look at this and think it was broken :wink:

Yeah it's totally normal.

Have you tried a different computer?

Mowcius

the default blinking of L-Led is also kinda unsteady (4xlong, 1xshort)

http://www.arduino.cc/cgi-bin/yabb2/YaBB.pl?num=1286179398/3

mploj - have you selected the correct board and serial port from the tools menu?

think i did everything right ... setup uno as usb modem in network preferences, chose the right board and serial port in the tools dilogue ...

i will try it with a windows pc tomorrow even though want to use it with my mac ... see what happens then. i don't think that the board is damaged since i read similar posts in the forums.

thank you so far, cheers

Hi,
this is what i get when printing the verbose output:

-C/Applications/Arduino.app/Contents/Resources/Java/hardware/tools/avr/etc/avrdude.conf -v -v -v -v -patmega328p -cstk500v1 -P/dev/tty.usbmodem411 -b115200 -D -Uflash:w:/tmp/build41791.tmp/AnalogReadSerial.cpp.hex:i

avrdude: Version 5.4-arduino, compiled on Oct 9 2007 at 11:20:31
Copyright (c) 2000-2005 Brian Dean, http://www.bdmicro.com/

System wide configuration file is "/Applications/Arduino.app/Contents/Resources/Java/hardware/tools/avr/etc/avrdude.conf"