I need some help here fast! Arduino+Xbee

Hi,
First some info:

The hardware i use is:
2x Arduino UNO (UNO is based om ATmega328)
2x ArduinoXBee shield PRO v1.1

I have 2 computers available, one HP EliteBook 8540p running Vista enterprice 64-bit and one running XP 32-bit.

The arduino shield with the XBee Looks close to this

I try to connect using USB (COM - Ports)

I downloaded the X-CTU and installed it (Ofc ive installed Arduino IDE and drivers).
My X-CTU version is 5.1.4.1

Now to the problem, i followed a tutorial on how to communicate with xbee and arduino (Xbee+Arduino example tutorial)

And i followed the steps but when i try to "Write" in "X-CTU" I get a error that it lost communication with the modem.

Getting modem type... OK
Programming modem... Lost communication with modem
Write Parameters... Failed

Any suggestions?

Im quite new to Arduino and coding but i have managed to do a few things with ethernet shield. Now its XBees turn, but i can figure out how to connect it because i only get errors when ive plugged it in and try to Write or Test the COM port.

(Ofcourse i know to what port my arduino is connected to, but the X-CTU sometimes doesnt recognize it or dont want to open the port -.-')

Thats mainly my problem, and i would also be happy if someone could give me an quite easy example with XBee, Because finding good tutorials semt to be quite hard.

Here is the problem im stuck with right now:

I have also tried to change the baud, without any luck

You need to describe the hardware setup and type of XBees you have. Are they series 1 or series 2/2.5?

Did you remove the ATMega328 chip from the Arduino before you installed the shield? Did you set the jumpers on the shield in the correct positions?

Something like this (you only need one) makes it much easier to configure the XBee. No need to remove/replace the ATMega328 chip from the Arduino each time.

The shield i have is a ArduinoXbee Shield PRO With a XBee S2