network enabled home power monitor.

Hello,

I am new to the whole Arduino experience, and I want to construct a reliable home power monitoring system.
I've been researching on the web and practicing basic stuff with actual arduino.
The power monitoring system will be non-invasive, and it will measure 110V/50HZ/Single phase, 2 wire(United States). Also, I want it to be network enabled, so I can monitor the real-time power usage and history with my computer and phone.
I have no idea where to start except that I need to use current transformer with arduino.

Anyone has successfully completed a project like this?
any advice on safety with current transformer(i am new to this whole electrical engineering)?

thanks.

any advice on safety with current transformer(i am new to this whole electrical engineering)?

Don't.

I've seen projects where people have detected the flash of an LED on their meter that indicates an amount of energy has been used. I'm not sure that a current transformer is a good idea for a first project as I'm led to believe that they can pose dangers if used incorrectly.

I have no idea where to start

Start with posting a picture of your KWH meter ...

Are there moving parts to be seen that for example could reflect light (black/white disc), or a blinking led or ...

and it will measure 110V/50HZ/Single phase, 2 wire(United States).

Where, in the United States, are you finding 50Hz power?

As Grumpy_Mike says, don't.

sp. "Grumpy AWOL"

sp. "Grumpy AWOL"

Oops. Sorry about that. The advice sounded so much like Grumpy_Mike that I didn't scroll back to double check. It's still good advice if you have to ask how to do it.

If you do decide to proceed , here is a project like you describe using current transformers and a WiShield on the Asynclabs forum.
http://asynclabs.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=18&t=78&sid=fd36d59fad1ebf0ad977579f6312e407