Arduino Quadcopter

Hi,

I must start by saying I am a total beginner at this, microcontroller projects, and I am trying to take it all in as fast as possible. I have a class project which involves making an automatically stabilizing quadcopter. Now my question is, what board would be best for this kind of project? I'm going to have a wireless video camera, a gyro, an accelerometer and an altimeter on the little UAV, plus MAYBE a couple of proximity sensors, depending on how much everything weighs.

I've looked preliminarily at aeroquadstore.com and have been looking at the AeroQuad Shield 2.0 with the Arduino Mega 2560, ITG 3200 triple axis gyro and the BMA 180 triple axis accelerometer as filling my needs, but I would appreciate input from people who have experience with Arduino and DIY projects.

Thanks in advance!

Search the old forum below for quadcopter for previous discussions on the subject.

http://www.arduino.cc/cgi-bin/yabb2/YaBB.pl

I would appreciate input from people who have experience with Arduino and DIY projects.

Well my input would be that you have selected a most difficult project for someone with no prior experience with microcontrollers. I would think you would be much better off starting with a few less ambitious projects while you learn and gain experience.

But good luck either way.

Lefty

Hi,

Yeah it is a very ambitious project and it will cost as much!
But remember that the Arduino cannot process video...

But anyway, you should go look here: www.diydrones.com/
A lot of people there did what you want to do.

I wish you luck and wish you'll realise this!
(Don't forget to post here what you made if you do it!) :slight_smile: