Stepper motors can not get past 150rpm

Hello everyone,

I'm designing a system that uses stepper motor to drive a certain carriage. The problem is that the stepper cannot get past 150rpm. Here is my current setup:

Arduino Uno
Rugged motor shield (30-40V max, 2.8A max)
Stepper motor 4-wire (6A/Phase; 3V; 0.5 ohm)
Power input in the shield is a laptop charger (19.5V -- 4.7A)

I set my PWM to 71 and the total RPM can only reach 150. At 151 RPM, the motor stalls and won't move no matter what the PWM is. I've seen this motor go up to 400-500rpm before so the motor isn't the problem. Sorry I'm a total noob at this, can someone tell me what I did wrong?

P.S. I'm using the arduino stepper library btw

Quote from the website on that shield:-

The Rugged Motor Driver shield is a motor driver for two brush DC motors or one bipolar stepper motor.

So it is not a driver for a stepping motor.
You don't feed a stepping motor with PWM.

For info on stepping motors see:-
http://www.thebox.myzen.co.uk/Workshop/Motors_3.html
and
http://www.thebox.myzen.co.uk/Workshop/Motors_4.html

Wait, I'm confused. Your quote is saying that the rugged motor shield do support one bipolar stepper motor, which is what this is right?

Also, I understand the chopping method which is PWM and I'm trying to limit the current going through the motor. From the article, should increasing the input voltage help with increasing the RPM?

Disconnect the motor from the carriage and see if the motor runs faster. If so, something in the carriage is preventing the motor from running faster.

Also, I understand the chopping method which is PWM and I'm trying to limit the current going through the motor.

Yes but the chopping method of regulation is based on the feedback from the actual current flowing. By simply applying a fixed PWM you have what is known as an open ended control loop, not a closed control loop. There are much better drivers to get the best out of your motor.