Android Bluetooth to Arduino

Hello everybody !

I'm quite new to the world of Arduino, but since the beginning I wanted to use my phone (an Android) to control my Arduino through Bluetooth. (I'm also a beginner to Android by the way).

I did tones of research online in order to find something relevant and simple in order to do that. But I miserably failed.
But since patience is a virtue, I managed to gather information from almost everywhere and found this.

Without any pretension, here is a short how-to tutorial.
Maybe this post will help, maybe not, but at least I tried ^_^.

You need a Bluetooth Adapter plugged to your Arduino obviously.
For the Arduino code, I simply used the blink code and mixed it with Serial.read() function.
http://arduino.cc/en/Serial/read

I'm not gonna explain how android works but here's the link to download the IDE.

Before anything, I want to add something, I'm not a pro in programming, like not at all, and I'm not a native English speaker, so I apologize for the mistakes I will make and for the non-scholarly terms I will use. (Remember that while reading, please).

Since I just want to use my App with my arduino, I hardcoded its Mac Address in the code.

First thing first you're gonna need to test if the bluetooth in your phone is enabled or not and if you can use it.

private void CheckBt() {
		mBluetoothAdapter = BluetoothAdapter.getDefaultAdapter();

if (!mBluetoothAdapter.isEnabled()) {
			Toast.makeText(getApplicationContext(), "Bluetooth Disabled !",
					Toast.LENGTH_SHORT).show();
                   /* It tests if the bluetooth is enabled or not, if not the app will show a message. */
		}

if (mBluetoothAdapter == null) {
			Toast.makeText(getApplicationContext(),
					"Bluetooth null !", Toast.LENGTH_SHORT)
					.show();
		}
	}

You can invoke that method in the onCreate method or whenever you want to (before trying to make a connection obviously).