Robot mower navigation

I am building a robot mower so I am interested in your ideas. I am thinking of using a digital compass for navigating in rows while mowing. This might be accurate enough for a small yard. I have been reading about triangulation with ultrasonic signals and wondered if anyone has actually tried this.

What is your plan for creating boundaries? Bury a wire like a dog wireless fence system? Could probably use the collar then as the boundary detector too. Some have 2-level detection - beep when close, then shock creation at the boundary.
Using compass to tell it when to stop making a 180 degree turn after stopping at a boundary might work.
Have to keep in mind that compass will lead or lag the actual turn.
Ultrasonic - would that need to be pretty directional to be able to be received outdoors? I don't know how quickly it dissipates with distance if omnidirectional.

Yes I plan to use buried wire from dog fence or the harbor freight wire tracer.

I have no experience using ultrasonic triangulation so I hope to hear from someone who has. I haven't used ultrasonic outdoors but some range finders are made for outdoors.

I have no experience using ultrasonic triangulation so I hope to hear from someone who has. I haven't used ultrasonic outdoors but some range finders are made for outdoors.

To use triangulation, the signal has to bounce off of hard surfaces that form the boundary. That hardly seems like the scenario that will be present in your yard.

Unless you are trying to minimize the time needed to mow the yard, a roomba or pool cleaner process would work - mow in some direction until you can't go any farther; turn some random amount, and mow some more. Sooner or later, the whole yard is mowed. Of course, it might look like a drunk did it, but the grass will be short, and you can drink while the yard is being mowed.

rbtgeek: