Flex Sensor and Mini 8X8 LED Matrix????

Completely new to Arduino-I just received my components listed in the title and below:
8X8 Mini LED Matrix, Flex Sensor, Arduino Uno, MAX7219 and perma-proto 1/4 Sized BreadBoard (3)

I am hoping to rig this project such that the flex sensor can act both as the switch for the matrix and the dimmer...
Bent=Off Straight=Full power
I have watched various videos and read tutorials on both functions-wiring the matrix with the MAX, and the flex sensor
working with only one LED but bringing them both together as one project is what i want to do.

I am an Industrial Design Student trying to incorporate all of this within a task light I have made.
Any and all help would be appreciated.

Is this possible?
What other parts do I need other than resistors? Are my breadboards too small?
Can the flex sensor and matrix be on separate breadboards with distance between them?

I don't know code or really anything when it comes to this-just what I have read/watched.
I am also new to wiring so the right amount of voltage/resistance is something I cannot do myself.
Thank you again for any and all help...

Yes, that will be easy to do.
Obtain a 0.1uF and a 1uF cap also for the MAX7219.
Wire up the matrix and the display per the MAX7219 datasheet to start.
http://datasheets.maximintegrated.com/en/ds/MAX7219-MAX7221.pdf
Seg0-7 go to the Anode pins, and Dig0-7 go to the Common Cathode pins.

The current [I<sub>SET</sub>] for the LEDs, vis-a-vis the MAX7219, is established by RSET. There is a value below which that should not go (too much current). I don't know what the range of a flexsensor is, but I think that you may not want to substitute it directly for RSET.
Maybe the better way would be to use the flexsensor with analogRead and result a variable RSET that way.