newbie: how to count pwm pulses

Hi,

I've got a probably stupid question about steppers, it's my first time with motors so bear with me, here's where I'm at:

I've got a pcb with some stepper motors out of a printer external feeder module: it's got several Sanyo STK672-600 2-phase stepping motor driver chips on it, here's the chip datasheet:

http://bdent.com/v/vspfiles/downloadables/STK672-600.pdf

I've read it and thought it looked easy to solder some wires to the most important pins of the chip (actually I soldered to some convenient test holes in the pcb that were directly connected to the pins), and then I connected:

STK pin 12, clock, to arduino mega pwm pin 7
STK pin 13, cwb (direction), to arduino mega digital pin 22
STK pin 15, enable, to arduino mega digital pin 23

Setting clock (via analogWrite) and enable to high the motors run, setting cwb to low/high they change direction, very nice:

After a couple of tries I've understood that motor speed is linked to the pwm frequency, I've found that out by moving the STK clock wire from arduino pin 7 (lower frequency pin) to pin 4 (higher frequency pin) and the motors ran at double speed, now my question is: how do I tell the stepper motor to move an exact number of steps in any given direction ? the motors I'm going to use are Shinano 1.8 degree/step, so they'll take 200 steps to one complete revolution, one step should be one pulse (if I got it right), so is there a way for me to tell Arduino to send an exact number of pulses from the pwm pin to the clock pin on the Sanyo chip ? A forum search got me to this answer, if that's the way to go a link to an example of how to use the "Output Compare Match Interrupt Enable" would be great.

thanks,

andrea

You don't need a "PWM" output pin to send pulses. The PWM pins are useful for sending a stream of pulses with an adjustable duty cycle to simulate analog output.

For any I/O pin you can send a pulse with:

digitalWrite(pin,HIGH);
digitalWrite(pin, LOW);