Arduino Solid State Relay Control

Hi there, I'm testing the control of a solid state relay from my Arduino Mega, and have the thing wired up like this:
http://www.arduino.cc/cgi-bin/yabb2/YaBB.pl?num=1258377370/17#17

I have the following SSR (SSR-25 DA):
http://www.multice.com/bp/Solid%20State%20Relay/SSR-25DA.htm

The SSR is connected to mains and should, I believe turn the light bulb on when I send a digitalWrite HIGH to the relevant pin, and I can see the LED built into the SSR turn on when this happens, and after 10 seconds when I wrote a LOW to the same pin the LED in the SSR turns off. Mains is 240V AC / 10A.

The problem is that the light bulb does not go on. When I replaced the light bulb with a multi-meter I could see when HIGH is written about 23-24V goes through, well short of the 240V from mains.

Could the SSR be faulty? Or am I missing something really obvious (I am new to this) :slight_smile:

Thanks!

Sorry, originally posted in home automation since this is part of a home automation system :slight_smile:

Any ideas? Should I just try another SSR, from another manufacturer?

Thanks all!

23-24V goes through

Where are you measuring that voltage? Does you meter read correctly if you check your power source, the mains supply?

mains supply leg1......bulb....relay....leg2

Do you get 240volts from leg1 to leg2?
With the relay turned off do you get 240v across the relay?
With the relay on what voltage do you measure across the relay?
Stupid question but, is your bulb a known good one?

cyclegadget:
Where are you measuring that voltage? Does you meter read correctly if you check your power source, the mains supply?

Hi there, I can confirm that the meter is fine, it reads the full 240 volt (a few more but I guess that is expected) from the mains. The bulb is good and tested with a straight mains connection.