Use Arduino to switch 64 220v lights?

Hi,

I'm pretty new to Arduino. I'm working on an interactive lighting installation which will switch groups of ~12 cold cathode lights (64 groups in total). I have transformers for the cold cathodes (which require ~900V), so I just need to switch them on/off on the 220v side.

I'm realizing it may be easiest to get some kind of DMX512 unit and have that talk to the arduino (or maybe I can get a unit that interfaces directly with the computer?).

Anyway, just wondering if anyone would have some generic advice for switching 64 220V lines.

Thanks!

-Nicholas

Since Arduino dosen't have 64 digital pins, you would need to have some extra hardware for that.

I would use 8 shiftregisters (check the playground for 74hc595 shiftregister use), that would gice you exactly the 64 outputs you need.

Then each shiftregister pin would need to drive a relay, but you need soemthing in between, probably a nice powerfull transistor and a diode to protect against backEMf from the relays.

It would probably be smart to build the setup in modules. Like each shiftregiste and the associated 8 relays + relay driver circutry as a module.

This setup would be very easy to control from Arduino, because all you would have to do is shift out 8 bytes (64 bits), each bit controlling one relay.

Look in the playground for info on how to use shiftregisters and relays.

Thanks MikMo,

That's helpful. Using these shift-register thingys to control the on/off sounds a lot cheaper than investing in DMX 512 equipment.

Do I have to be careful about what the phase of the 220v is when I switch it? I've read warning about this in other forums, but don't quite understand.