Arduino/Atmel and Linux challenge...solved?

Greetings all!

I am tired of using Windows!!

Is Arduino or Atmel interested in Linux users? Or are we being pushed to the back burner? I have challenged Atmel to show up here, and see what is happening with their latest 8-bit compiler. Let's see what they do! :slight_smile:

EDIT: If by some chance they do show up here, this is the topic. See reply#10:
http://arduino.cc/forum/index.php/topic,67519.0.html

BTW, I do not believe the problem with Linux is Arduino. I firmly believe this is an Atmel challenge, and I am hoping that Arduino can put more pressure on Atmel than I can.

As far as I know there are a lot of Linux Arduino users out there - since the Arduino software is open source, designed to be portable, packaged for download for 3 OS's I guess Arduino cares too..

Hey, I've been using linux since 4 years (work and home) and doing Arduino stuff since a year and never had a problem at all. When something fails is programmer's issue, not hardware nor compiler. I have a ethernet shield, used a lot of sensors, displays and more and everything worked well. Not to be afraid :wink:

I also just use linux it is more easy to deal on arduino, better fast compiling and upload code and dont give stupid errors when change usb port like windows. :stuck_out_tongue_closed_eyes:
I realy hate windows it is just a big disapointeness.I prefer MAC and linux
If you trie it is like drive a fiat and then change to a ferrari:)

When something fails is programmer's issue,

This is a programmer's issue. Atmel's programmer's issue. The newest release will not compile anything if not modified. Period.
Not only does it not, but the way it is coded, it shouldn't. Trying to force it to compile will only generate faulty code. I had to make two modifications to get it to compile at all. And relatively easy bugs to find.

I have the same code working great on Windows compiled program on the same Mega2560.