3D TicTacToe - Comments on Schematic

Hi,
I'm quite a newbie in electronics in general (I'm a mathematician, so you can imagine my level of abstraction ;D) and after a couple of months playing with the Arduino I'm now trying to build up a full standalone project on my own.

The game is 3DTicTacToe, which is basically the classical TicTacToe (Tris) game, played on a 3x3x3 (RGB)LEDs Cube. Before starting soldering stuffs etc. (I'm also still waiting for some parts to arrive) I've started drawing the schematics of the project, but since I'm a newbie I would ask you an opinion on this schematic (I'm sure a lot of components could be added in some intelligent locations (e.g. diodes), as well as some other ones are probably unnecessary...).

To explain the project in words, the game will be built in a small wooden box, where the 3x3x3 led cube comes out (maybe under a glass sphere, recycling some empty Nutella jar :D).

• The power can be drawn either from a USB port (only for power, no data transmission) or from a 2.1mm jack (e.g. 9V battery, wall adapter, etc.). A slider switch allows to choose the source (I suppose that with some special transistors/IC the automatic selection could be possible, but I'm not gonna complicate my life further...).
  • The user interface consists in a 3D Joystick with button (like the ones which are on the PlayStation Controller) to choose which LEDs to light up), a button to reset the game (empty the grid) and two 7-segment displays to show the actual score of the 2 players.
  • The controller part is done with an ATMEGA168 (programmed with an Arduino Duemilanove, then plugging out the chip and using it in my circuit), as well as two MAX7219 drivers for the LEDs/7Segment Displays (I'm only using two of the three colors of the RGB LEDs).