Data transmission with a modulated LASER

Hi everyone,
For a project at uni i've been given the task of transmitting information through space using a modulated laser. I think an Arduino would be a great tool for the project and was wondering if anyone had any advice as i'm a complete beginner. My thinking so far is that i'd convert a file into a binary string of 1s and 0s (not too sure on the details of how to do that yet) and then using the Arduino, modulate the laser on and off accordingly. Then have a photodiode as a receiver to re-create the binary string which can then be used to convert the file back to its original format. If anyone has any info or advice it'd be really really appreciated.

Thanks in advance

Paul

stuff to look at

http://www.scitoyscatalog.com/mm5/merchant.mvc?Screen=PROD&Store_Code=SC&Product_Code=LASERVOICEKIT&Category_Code=L

http://www.ramseyelectronics.com/downloads/catalog/201201w-21.pdf

Thanks for the reply.
I've come across a few ways of using a laser to transmit an audio signal, i was just wondering if it was possible to transmit something more complex like a computer image or any type of file in general. As far as i know a file is essentially composed of a binary string of 1s and 0s that could be used to modulate the laser and read by a receiver. Would an Arduino have the ability to do this?

Lots of hits on google for 'arduino laser communication'. In theory it's not too hard to send digital data of any sort over a laser-photodiode link. In practice, there are lots of interesting variables you'll have to tame: noise, precision alignment, and slow photodiodes to name a few.

To send a file you might look into SD card support. Do not expect to achieve megabit per second speeds; you'll be doing well to get into the kilobit per second range with reliability using off the shelf parts.

You might want to start by building a little test rig to send and receive data over a short distance and work it up from there.