Arduino clones with more RAM than Uno?

I have no experience with other Arduino clones other than UNO R2/R3 and Hackduino which I made with atmega328p. Problem is my latest project (LED clock with Wave Shield) needs more than 2K RAM that UNO provides... I'm looking for cheap alternatives. Mega is way too expensive (I actually ordered one to test out) and I plan eventually to make these so I'd prefer to have DIP chips for easier soldering. I've seen some clones like Sagduino, Teensy and ChipKit, but I don't know how compatible they are with current IDE and libraries (I use a lot of advanced things, like EEPROM, fastWrite, etc.) and have no experience with these. What would you recommend? I think I need at least 4K of RAM, and same amount (or little more) of I/O ports as in UNO.
Any advise would be appreciated! :slight_smile:

• More than 4K of SRAM
  • More pins (I/O) than atmega328p
  • DIP package
  • Support in the IDE and libraries etc..

====== Atmega644p or Atmega1284p... Here is a datasheet for the atmega1284p http://www.atmel.com/Images/doc8059.pdf. 644p and 1284p are essentially the same, just different flash/SRAM size.

And here is the core/bootloader for the 1284p "family". GitHub - maniacbug/mighty-1284p: Mighty 1284P Platform for Arduino

Are you certain you need more than 2K of RAM? Have you used all the usual tricks of storing constants (including audio files) in PROGMEM?

dc42:
Are you certain you need more than 2K of RAM? Have you used all the usual tricks of storing constants (including audio files) in PROGMEM?

Yup, I'm storing all font arrays in Progmem. Audio is on SD card and I'm using Adafruit's wave library, I'm not sure if that data can be stored it Eprom...

baselsw:

• More than 4K of SRAM
  • More pins (I/O) than atmega328p
  • DIP package
  • Support in the IDE and libraries etc..