Servo control from software

Hey everybody, I'm fairly new to this so please be patient with me. I have a Cnc hotwire machine (foamcutter) running on tj zoide software. I use it to make rc airplanes. I have a hobby Cnc 4 axis controller. I need help with electronically controlling the voltage for the wire heat. My software has a step/ direction signal for the heat circuit of some older Cnc controller boards with auto heat. My board does not have this feature. I have a seeed studio(v1) motor controller and a stepper motor and an audrino UNO, but have no idea how to make it work with only a step and direction signal. I need to be able to read the signal with the audrino and have it control a stepper or servo that will control a pot and a Lm317 regulator to regulate heat. I am currently using 12-18 v for the heat. I have a 24v power supply. Another option if anyone knows how would be a circuit to use the step/direction signal to control a pwm output of 12-20 v. Any guidance or help is greatly appreciated.

I have a seeed studio(v1) motor controller and a stepper motor and an audrino UNO, but have no idea how to make it work with only a step and direction signal.

The motor controller does.

I need to be able to read the signal with the audrino

What signal?

I have a seeed studio(v1) motor controller and a stepper motor and an audrino UNO, but have no idea how to make it work with only a step and direction signal.
The motor controller does.

I need to be able to read the signal with the audrino
What signal?

The step/ direction signal from the Cnc software. It regulates heat(voltage) based on speed of stepper motors on the 4 axis machine. Faster it's cutting, the higher the heat( Vout)