TTL voltage level? HELP!

So I got a MT3329 GPS chip and I'm trying to wire it up to my arduino Duemilenove. I'm relatively new to this aspect of electronics so I thought that this would be a relatively easy but informative project. So far, though, I've got nothing from the module. The MT3329's TX pin goes to the arduino RX pin, and the Arduino's TX pin goes to the MT3329's TX pin. However, when I test the voltage level of the arduinos TX, I've notices that its 5 volts.With the Module, its ~3.3 volts (around 3.4 volts)

My question is this:
Can the arduino read 3.3 volt TTL logic levels, hence why I don't seem to be getting data from it? If it can't, what do I need to scale the module's 3.3 volt logic to the arduino's logic level? Is it a simple transistor, or more complex?

Little background: I've tried reading the chips serial data by: Using the software Serial library, Also writing to eeprom from the default TX/RX when the arduino is unplugged, all to no avail?

Please help ASAP as I have an entire weekend at which I can do whatever I like, which can't be said for the week afterwards :confused:

Thanks!!!!!!

Bad news, you may have damaged your gps chip. Good news, if not, all you need is a level translator that will translate 3.3v logic and 5v logic (or use a 3.3v arduino)

Ahhhh okay, thanks! the MT3329 has a USB option so i'll try that. If thats bad, I'll know I've damaged the chip. If its good I'll get a translator, Thanks! I don't suppose you'd know the part number/ chip number of the kind of translator I'd need to get?

Lady Ada, Sparkfun, and others offer breakout boards with the converters. If you just want a chip, there are a number of options, but I use a 74HC4050E

The Arduino/ATmega should be (and often is) happy with 3V3 data coming in (at RX), you shouldn't need to "scale up".
The GPS might not like taking 5V data in, but you could scale that down with a voltage divider.