Why i am killing my tip120 ?

Hi all,

I am new in electronics and encounter a problem with a tip120 transistor. I wire it this way:

The problem is, the led is always ON, and when i am testing the transistor with a multimeter in diode mode, i find 0,5v between the collector and emmiter. So i kill it and i don't know why =(

I need some help to understand where is my mistake.

I cannot find a datasheet on that TIP220 transistor. Can you post a link to it? Are you sure it is a TIP220 and not a TIPXXX in a TO-220 case?

My mistake, it is a TIP120 in a TO220 as you said :wink:

here is a ilnk to the datasheet:
http://www.produktinfo.conrad.com/datenblaetter/150000-174999/150872-da-01-en-Transistor_TIP_120.pdf

It's a Darlington, Collector, Base Emitter.

• not a mosfet as your circuit would describe.

you're not blowing them, they work still no doubt, collect D3 of Arduino to the Base Pin (middle/2 pin), Emitter to GND, Collector to your LED's GND (short lead) and the Anode + side goes straight to your 5v rail.

But, add a 1 - 10k resistor on base or it could damage the arduino pin.

Try connecting the wire connected to the Arduino D3 pin to ground instead of the Arduino pin. Does the LED still light?

@cjdelphi: That is not what the datasheet shows. Pin 1 is the base.

cjdelphi:
you're not blowing them, they work still no doubt, collect D3 of Arduino to the Base Pin (middle/2 pin), Emitter to GND, Collector to your LED's GND (short lead) and the Anode + side goes straight to your 5v rail.

According to the datasheet, the base pin is the pin 1, right ?

Pin 1 is the base. Did you try the test?

SurferTim:
Pin 1 is the base. Did you try the test?

Yes, and the led is still light

ah yes sorry my bad, I looked at the Darlington first, then i went back to a similar datasheet i had open and looked, then i went back and realized.

take a look at the attachment....

confusion.png

ah yes, my amazing circuit design skills :smiley: