Free GPS shield...tell me what you think

Well as the title says...I have a new GPS shield (http://www.dsscircuits.com/articles/i2c-gps-shield.html) I'm going to be selling soon and was hoping to get some feedback on it before I start selling it. It's a new twist on the standard GPS in that it has a microcontroller onboard that parses all the data and makes it available via I2C.

I'm looking for some honest feedback on it so if anyone's interested PM me or what not and I'll send you one to keep (only one available). Preferably someone who's used GPS and is familiar with the Wire library. Let me know.

If you don't get any other takers, I'll give it a whirl.... but I've never used GPS before, though you could get a accurate "how easy it was to use" account

I've dabbled a bit in GPS (had a hacked bluetooth one attached to my arduino for a while) and I2C.
Got a few things I'd like to try out with a GPS on my arduino so I'd be happy to give it a try if you want.

Looks like a nice shield with 10Hz GPS :slight_smile: I hadn't ever thought about using an extra microcontroller for something like this - what MCU is it on the shield?

Thank you all for the interest...I think Mowcius snags the shield because it sounds like he has some experience with GPS. Mowcius...PM me where you want it shipped too.

what MCU is it on the shield

I decided on using an Atmega328 because it had the I2C hardware built in and I wasn't sure how big the code was going to be.

I decided on using an Atmega328 because it had the I2C hardware built in and I wasn't sure how big the code was going to be.

Ahh - hacking potential :slight_smile: Especially with the ICSP header - will you be releasing the code for the chip?

I'll send you a PM.
Depending on what I think of to do with it (after having a play around) I might pass it on to some people at Leeds HackSpace to have a play with too - could stick it on my roomba :smiley:

I received the shield today - testing is in progress :slight_smile: