Project idea: air flow monitor for medical simulation

I work as a technician in a medical simulation lab (it's a fake hospital, with all the amenities, plus a central control room where we control and film everything), and one issue that we often run into is students will put oxygen on a patient or mannequin but won't verbalize the flow rate they've set it at. Normally this isn't a problem because the scenario simply requires them to give the patient oxygen, and not how much, but occasionally we run scenarios that require a certain amount (either at least x liters/minute, or no more than x liters/minute).

So, what I want to do is build a flow meter that can plug directly into the christmas tree on the wall, not restrict the air flow at all, and allow the student to plug into a christmas tree on the device. The device would then connect to a server (probably via the Wifi Shield board), and send the flow rate to a listening app in the control room.

Does that make sense?

So, I've been browsing the forums for a bit and I can't seem to find a reliable small airflow meter, and I was wondering if any of you know of one or how to build one. Also, beside the mainboard, wifi, and the flow meter, is there anything else you would think I need?

Doing this sort of measurement reliably and accurately enough to trust strikes me as very hard, unless you can take an existing solution. Presumably the people you're testing are expected to be able to find out what flow rate they're set up. This suggests that there may already be some flow monitoring equipment in use. Do you know what it is/how it works? Perhaps it would be possible to either duplicate that, or piggy-back some sort of monitoring on top of it. Otherwise the only sensible approach I can think of would be to put a small, known restriction in the supply and measure the pressure difference across it. Doing that safely when there is pressurised air involved may not be easy.

Hi,