Total Newbie... need advice

OK, so I have a need. Or I should say, my wife has a need.... she'd like a universal remote that she can (1) understand, and (2) does what it's supposed to. I've had a couple of universal remotes now that cannot control my Bose system or get out of sync with the various devices which puts her into a tizzy trying to just watch some TV - and gets totally exasperated when the remote turns on the TV but turns off the cable box (and vice-versa).

Now, a little background. I have a good amount of experience in programming (web, C#, stuff like that) and a degree in computer science. I've been a senior web developer for a while. But, I have very little experience in electronics. I'm not afraid to wire in a new outlet in my house, and I actually built a laundry room and did all the wiring for it myself. So, I can do the simple stuff. But when you start talking resistors and ohms and other things like that, I have vague recollections of stuff I covered in high school 20 years ago.

Now, I'm willing to learn what I can in what little free time I have (usually late at night). So, my thought is... what about building my own universal remote? I saw a video online where a guy used an Arduino board in combination with a bluetooth and IR transceiver to make one he could control from his phone. It sounds like a neat project... however, I guess I'm going to need some hardware.

I have no understanding of the differences in the various boards available, what board I might need for such a project, and what other "accessories" I need to get. Will most of the boards accomplish the basics of this? I want to program in the appropriate remote codes for my devices or use the IR receiver to "learn" the remote signal from my remotes.

I guess I'm hoping to get some advice from someone who has already been down this path... :slight_smile:

Thanks in advance for any advice!