High current mosfets for H bridge with ESD protection.

I plan on making an dual half H bridge for a robot, but i have been having a hard time finding the right N-Channel and P-Channel Mosfets.
I plan on using this schematic ---> http://www.electronics-tutorials.ws/transistor/tran60.gif to keep things simple.
Right now i am using a TI L293D which internally is the same the schematic except its doubled. That chip is made to only run 1.0 A through it and the motors im using are pulling 2.2A, and i am not using flyback diodes soooooooo, its time to design an H-Bridge. I need a mosfet that can run 3 amps continuously at 12V and it has to be ESD protected cause im most likely to be stupid and break one thats not ESD protected.
i was thinking this mosfet would be good but im not entirely sure.
http://datasheet.octopart.com/BTS117-Infineon-datasheet-62262.pdf
Sorry guys im just an electronics newb. I know how the circuit just not how to read data sheets -.-
your help is greatly appreciated, i have already spent hours and hours looking so accuse me of not trying lol. i need to get back to home now. thanks )_)

tran60.gif

I plan on using this schematic -

Can't read it, the link gives a broken file. Why not attach it to the post?

wierddd, let me attach it.

i was thinking this mosfet would be good but im not entirely sure.

Well the main snag is that it isn't a mosfet. The clue is in the title "Smart low side power switch", it is as the title suggests a switch for power switching the 0v or low side of the supply. Don't even consider making a bridge out of this, because you will need a high sided power switch as well and they won't turn on and off at the same time and you get shoot through, which is where you get a dead short from both sides turning on for a small amount of time.