questions on interfacing with Real Basic on os X

Hello, I am new to the ardino but I have lots of great ideas. I know how to turn on and off an led at any pin but I want to take that a step further. I'm a novice programer. I'm running Mac OS X 10.4.7 on a powerbook g4. I want to be able to run real basic and push a button in a GUI program to turn on or off an output or vice versa to light a field on real basic. Basically i want ot add GUI capabities on a simple on off scale for my purpose. I want to eventully make a monitoring and relay control system for my fish tank with this. So is there an really simple Real basic turtorials out there for the Arduino? Thanks in advance.

hello

I use realbasic talking to arduino in a couple of products (for example id-shop rf id monamour)
I should extract some code and paste it on the playground but it will take me ages... in the meantime use the example called "serial_read_basic" that you find in arduino already.

Whenever you send an H it will turn on the LED... you can use this as a strarting point.

one the realbasic side you could use code like this (this is very rough now)

given that you have an object called serial1 on your window

Serial1.SerialPort=System.SerialPort("/dev/usbserial-3B1")
If Serial1.Open then
 Serial1.Write("H")
Else
  MsgBox "The serial port could not be opened."
End if

this code opens the communication port and talks to arduino.
sending an H

check the help in realbasic and you'll find all the info you need

be ready to write an article for the playground about your experiments :wink:

massimo

thank you for the example. If i could ask one more question about it which output will go high by sending and "H" to the serial port? Do i need to also upload code to the board via the Arudino software? Sorry for all the questions like i said i am an amature at programing.