Simple Linear Actuator Control

Hey everyone,

I'm new to Arduino and electronics wiring in general and was wondering about hardware and wiring requirements for an Arduino Mega2560 with the following actuator:

Unfortunately, this is the only actuator we have to use and it will be used in an application with moderate vibrations, but I have some good news.

No position sensing is required. All I want to do is full extension and full retraction (and as you can see from the link there are limit switches built into it). I'm sure my inquiry is rather trivial and my apologies for sounding so newbish, but I just wanted to make sure I have everything right before I start ordering parts.

Thank you all so much in advance!

You will need an H-bridge driver for this. Looking at the data sheet I see it uses 12V at 5A peak current so something like this would drive it with no problem: Pololu - VNH3SP30 Motor Driver Carrier MD01B.
The link shows all the wiring details. You can find expample sketches for H-bridge control on the Playground.

retrolefty:
As you require no variable speed the cheapest solution would be to use two relays, a DPDT to control direction of travel and a second one to control on and off. Even the on/off relay could be optional as the positioner seems to contain built in limit switches, removing power once travel to one end has completed.

Lefty

Thanks Yankee! There's also the possibility that two of these would have to function from the same controller. Would this be appropriate to use in that case?

You're absolutely right, Lefty. Keep it simple!

Yes, that would work but it's over-rated for your actuator. This one is a bit smaller and less expesive: Pololu - Dual VNH3SP30 Motor Driver Carrier MD03A. But really, unless you need to control the speed Lefty's approach makes the most sense.

Relay for linear actuators.

Thanks for the cost saving options and the useful link. I'll definitely consider going that route. You all have been so helpful!