Going beyond the starter kit - weather, sensors, cloud db, web host....

Hi,

My wife bought me the starter kit for my birthday and I've got the bug. So much so, I think I've bitten off more than I can chew but I'm going to enjoy the ride. I'm very new to this but I enjoyed the starter kit projects and have decided to pull together an online weather station - but at the same time I'm going to blog (or rather I've already started to blog) about my progress. My site is called homegeekery and you can find it at hmgkry.net.

My ultimate aim is to have a bunch of weather related sensors, being polled from the arduino, which reports the data back to a cloud hosted DB server which is then presented via a cloud hosted web host. My skills are very much more at the web end, I don't see too much trouble putting the end infrastructure together (the db & web) but I'm very much a newb with arduino, electronics and so on. (and I'm sure most on this forum should be able to put this together in an afternoon! :slight_smile: )

Also on my blog I'm going to post about related topics that interest me; home media,; chromecast; xbmc; pi and so on.

My next challenge is understanding wire and how to draw data from sensors.....

Would be most grateful for you feedback! Will also keep this post up to date as I move forward.

Cheers

Chris (homegeek) | www.hmgkry.net

http://smartcitizen.me/ Check this out

You can't go wrong with Adafruit, and if you have other sensors, just ask on the forum.

Nice website, I see you do a lot more than just the Arduino :stuck_out_tongue:

I have one serious question (and you would not expect this one): What kind of the solder iron are you using ?