Configuring XBee without XCTU

Hello, I am quite new to arduino and I would like to configure my Xbee S1 (which is pluged into my arduino with a Bees Shield v2.12 from seedstudio) without having to use XCTU. More precisely I would like to put the power down to minimum level which is command ATPL 0 if I am not wrong. Could this be done automatically by programming it in the setup() function without going through XCTU? if so, how would i do it? how could I send the +++ to enter command and then configure the ATPL 0 and check its been done?

Thank you very much :slight_smile:

I would like to configure my Xbee S1 (which is pluged into my arduino with a Bees Shield v2.12 from seedstudio) without having to use XCTU.

Why?

Could this be done automatically by programming it in the setup() function without going through XCTU?

Yes.

how could I send the +++ to enter command

Serial.print("+++");

Assuming that the XBee is on the serial port.

and then configure the ATPL 0

Serial.print("ATPL=0");

and check its been done?

In a while loop, while there has not been a complete response, see if there is serial data to read. If so, read it. A complete response generally ends with a carriage return and line feed.

I want to do this because I have to configure 3 arduinos and I think its faster to add a few lines of code to the setup than configuring each one individually with XCTU right?

I have a software serial library, which uses pins 8 and 9 to tx/rx. Therefore the default Serial i use to read and print info on the monitor serial screen while the SoftwareSerial mySerial i use to tx/rx data from the Xbee. If i'm not wrong there should also be a delay of 1 sec before and after the +++ correct¿? something like:
delay(1000);
mySerial.print("+++");
delay(1000);
mySerial.print("ATPL=0");
a while loop that waits for =="\r\n"

Thanks for your help :slight_smile: