Fundino LCM1602

Hi All. I have just joined this group & I am sure there is someone out there who can help me with a little problem.... I have just bought a 16*2 LCD module with a I2C 'backpack' modification. The backpack board is marked Fundino LCM1602. I have found several sources of info about this board here and elsewhere on the net, but not the details I need. I intend to use this display with PICs which I program in assembly code. I have a lot of experience with parallel forms of the LCD display, and also with I2C interfaces. But I need these details to succeed with this serial device...

1. the slave address of the I2C device. I think this might be 20hex, but it might vary according to jumper settings. On my board 3 links are all open.

2. Clocking characteristics - minimum clock-hi time, and minimum clock period (overall)

3. the data format. i.e. how does the serial data which I send to the device relate to the logic states of the pins of the display module ? I need to control 8 (or maybe only 4) data pins, E, R/W, & RS. I believe that the backlight can also be contrrolled from the serial interface. I can imagine that 11 bits might be sent to control D0-7, E, R/W, & RS, but this is just a guess, and in any event I would need to know the order in which the bits should be sent.

Any help with this would be much appreciated ... Andy G4OEP

1. the slave address of the I2C device. I think this might be 20hex, but it might vary according to jumper settings. On my board 3 links are all open.

Judging from what Terry says here [SOLVED] "LCM1602 IIC A0 A1 A2" (+OTHERS) I2C Controller working with 20x4 LCD - Displays - Arduino Forum I suspect that the address may be 0x27.

You will also have to determine the actual connections between your PCF8574T pins and your backpack pins (see below).

1. Clocking characteristics - minimum clock-hi time, and minimum clock period (overall)