Slowing down servos. How to write it into the program.

Hi everyone,
I am very new to all of this and have been tinkering extensively for several days working on a program to change the position of a servo between 0, 45 and 90 degrees by using a digital input. No input = 0 degrees, a HIGH input on digital pin 3 moves the servo to 45 degress and a HIGH input on digital pin 4 moves the servo to 90 degrees. What I am now having trouble programming is how to slow the movement of the servo down. What I am trying to emulate is a old style of railway signal used in NSW Australia for many years known as an upper quadrant signal. See photo Upper quadrant signal, NSW main south IMG_3663 (Medium) | Flickr . They are driven off a motor that moves realatively slowly i nreal life and that is what I am trying to emulate. I have been using the sweep sketch in the examples as a reference but have come up trumps after reading all the posts forums and books I have acess to and searching you tube. There is obviously something I am missing. If you need to see the sketch I am happy to post it. But the notes are incomplete at this stage.

Thanks in advance,
Briggsy

Write small angular increments to the Servo, with a delay between the writes.
Bonus marks for not using "delay()".

If you post your code, we can help you with it.

Here is the sketch.

//Upper Quadrant servo sketch 1
#include <Servo.h> 

Servo myservo;  // create servo object to control a servo 

int yellowState;
int greenState;

// constants won't change. They're used here to 
// set pin numbers:

const int yellowPin = 3; 
const int greenPin = 4;

void setup() 
{ 

// initialize the trigger pins as an input:

pinMode(yellowPin, INPUT);
pinMode(greenPin, INPUT);
myservo.attach(9);  // attaches the servo on pin 9 to the servo object 
}

void loop(){
 // read the state of the trigger value:
yellowState = digitalRead(yellowPin);
greenState = digitalRead(greenPin);

// check if either of the triggers are HIGH