I am new to the Arduino

Hi, I wonder if anybody might have a clue to what has happened ? I am trying to run a 12 volt vehicular relay off an arduino uno and am using the 13 pin and the ground pins (2) on the power out! I am running the pin 13 through a 330 ohm resistor and an optocoupler to a mini relay and the vehicle relay from this (mini relay) the idea is to programme the vehicle relay to fire (high) at say 4 secs and then (low) off for say 10seconds. I have programmed the arduino with an LED using the ground and 13 pin adjacent on the pin 13 bus and when I connect the relays etc in to the Arduino, the veh relay works (happily clicking on and off) but it only works at the same timing as the standard Uno indicator light speed ie around .5 high and say .5 low? can you please tell me have I blown something or should I re-programme the arduino to read relay instead of Led? and call the new programme something else? if so any advice re any new programme would be very gratefully recieved Thanks in anticipation, Rob, UK junction 9,M25

can you post the code ( highlight it and click on the # button to display it in a panel )

Hi Karma8 I am like many "new to Arduino users" I suspect, and am totally over-awed by its capability and flexibility. I now have it working as I want it to, thankyou so much for your kind offer. What I think happened, is that somehow the Aeduino didn`t recognose (as its own) the port that I usually use for it ie port 5 ( the easiest for me as iuts in the front of my PC) and it automatically thought it should be in 1? and I missed that, so as soon as I changed it to 5 it fired up OK and I managed to reprogramme it.

As I am a novice to the programming, I wonder if I can take you up on your kind offer, (I dont know how to paste the programme as yet to the forum, but will soon find out I guess) I wont waste your time I assure you,