DUE turning off once Volt line connected > PS/2 trackball interface

I am an absolute beginner at this.

I used the sketch/code from this page:
http://playground.arduino.cc/componentLib/Ps2mouse

uploaded code ok no problem...usb is connected to prog port > PC com3
my ps/2 cable is connected to an adapter for USB/ps2 for the trackball.

I connected all the wires just as the photo on that page says to do. Double checked wires w multi meter on ps/2 cable to make sure they are the correct ones.
As soon as i connect the last wire.. voltage, to either 5v or 3.3v on the A.Due, the lights on the arduino go out & is disabled in the device mngr/comm port 3.
when i pull it out it turns back on. What am i doing wrong here?

NOTE: if it helps, this is ultimately what i am trying to do; this is a topic with replies for what i have been told so far to try from the Adafruit Forum:

Postby silver237:
I want to use a trackball (of any kind really since they all have the same internal design sensor wise) and wire it to a game cube pcb analog controller OR playstation PCB analog controller to actually control a Wii download game that i love. In other words... map the analog of the game controller's potentiometer through the Arduino & then use the trackball to move the sight/character on the screen. Instead of using the analog thumb thing. So its like im extending the signal of analog from the controller to another device to trigger movement.

Postby thefatmoop » Thu Aug 22, 2013 12:20 am
if you open the controller there will be two potentiometers on an individual joystick (x any y axis). Each of these potentiometers will have 3 wires - gnd, analog signal, power (check with volt meter). Each joystick will have two analog signal lines (x and y axis).

So you can insert your own analog signal into each joystick using various methods. the easiest would probably be to just use a DAC

important