Help needed about bypass capacitor

Hi all,

I am working on a personal project but I am a beginner in electronic, from now I'd like to push my project a little bit further by adding bypass capacitor to keep a clean signal as I use long wire (I have heard that was useful in that case).

Here is a quick explanation of my project :

The Arduino is linked to another board through a long 2 meters jack cable, on the other board there is a solenoid valve with her own 12v DC supply. The Arduino control a TIP transistor (on that board) to open or close 12v power to the solenoid valve.

My questions are :

• Is it really useful to put a bypass capacitor on the other board just before the TIP transistor gate to ensure that the gate always receive a clean power ?

• Does bypass capacitor are standard capacitor ? I mean I can use a normal ceramic capacitor ? Because I have seen some website selling specially named "bypass capacitor".

• To produce drops with the solenoid valve I have to put it on for short amount of time (like 50-60ms), then wait desired delay between drops and so on .. Would a capacitor apply lag to this process has it have to charge himself ? While it's charging the power won't reach the transistor gate, right ?

• And the last one, how do I calculate the size of a bypass capacitor ? I am by example thinking to add one on the 12v DC of the solenoid as it is provided by a very old power supply.

Thank you for your help.

Post a schematic!

I don't have at the moment. But what about my 3 lasts questions, they are more theorical ?

karnalta:
My questions are :

• Is it really useful to put a bypass capacitor on the other board just before the TIP transistor gate to ensure that the gate always receive a clean power ?

Doesn't hurt...

• Does bypass capacitor are standard capacitor ? I mean I can use a normal ceramic capacitor ? Because I have seen some website selling specially named "bypass capacitor".