How to create a beautiful PCB like the Arduino?

Arduino has a beautiful circuit board.

Since I'm not very experienced in the areas of PCB creation, I imagine that perhaps the boards are silk-screened?

How does arduino create their boards? How does an average hobbyist who might wish to sell professional boards do similar work?

You design it using software of your choice, then send the files off to a PCB manufacturer:

http://forum.arduino.cc/index.php?topic=117639.0

Dear, PCB is for using, not for beauty, most PCBs have silkscreen layer. You can design whatever you want and send designed files to PCB manufacturers, some small Companies will be happy to make your PCBs.

Good looking PCBs come down to know-how and practice.
Check out some of my designs:
http://www.crossroadsfencing.com/BobuinoRev17/
Like this one that combines SMD and thru hole for the various functions:

Hello,

You can also make PCB designs. There is much free software to design PCB circuits like Free PCB, Eagle, Design spark, Batch PCB etc.

Just like everything, it takes practice.

My advice is to choose a very simple design with only a few parts. I would recommend a relay, but like everyone says, be careful with mains power.

Aside from getting the component footprint correct, you need to know the correct trace width and required clearance between traces. There are many online calculators for these. The smaller grid you use, the closer you can get the traces. Arduino has very close traces, which makes it look clean.