Maths expert required

Hi
I am trying to do an event countdown with the arduino. I am very new to the programming language and am trying to feel my way through.
I am using a ds1307 and I made some code that is 'supposed' to perform a calculation but it is returning the wrong values.

I used the code from here https://sites.google.com/site/tronixstuff/home/arduino-tutorial-series-files/example7p3.pde?attredirects=0
as the base for my code which sets up the ds1307 and reads the time from it and you can manually set the time. The reason I used this code is because the ladyada tutorial the rtc1307 is set automatically.

I then wrote some code that tries to take the date and perform a calculation on it.
Because the number it returns is higher than 65,535 I am not sure what to use. Do I use int or long in my code instead of byte and word?
My second issue stems from the fact that the data extracted and printed to the serial monitor for the year is only 2 digits because it is a byte. I need to return the entire year for my calculation to work. It uses the whole 2011 as part of the equation. Which is why I have added +2000 to my equations.
I have set the ds1307 to the 2/9/2011 and the number it should be returning is 114 days. But the days and daysf values which are printing to the serial monitor are incorrect. The results should be days=734781 and daysf=734895. It currently returns days=13889 and daysf=13999 and returns 110.

The code for my calculation is below.
I created 2 global bytes called yearA and monthA which stands for year adjusted and month adjusted and 2 bytes called days and daysf which stands for days future.
The problem probably lies in my use of calculation functions or the way I have set up the storage for the integers. Could someone please tell me how to debug it easier? I really need to see what value is actually being used in the calculation for year and yearA and month and monthA.