Installing the firmware

Hi, I'm done assembling most of the kit, but don't understand how to install the firmware. And also, how to attach the thermistor.

Any help would be appreciated, thanks.

I do not know for sure, but I think your board setup came with the "MARLIN" firmware already loaded. If you want to read up on how to for beginners see: SolidUtopia.com is for sale | HugeDomains

As far as the thermistor, it is already built into your extruder. The quick connector contains purple and black wires that are terminated in another connector that goes on your Ramps Shield board see pg.43 fig 1. The thermistor found in pkg. C7 is an extra in case you have to repair your extruder.

Just to keep things straight, I have not finished wiring my machine, so I am not an expert on this so you may want to wait for an official word from the moderator.

ismaelbaum :

Just in case your board did not come with the Firmware, I have compiled a blog that seems to work for loading my firmware. It is a rough approximation of what I had learned from reading the information available. If the process works out, I will polish the syntax a bit later but here is something you can experiment with to see if it works for you.

Loading the firmware for your Materia 101 is straightforward. even though the Arduino site is rather confusing for Joe Average.
Up at the top of the forum page is a tab called DOWNLOAD. This will take you to the Arduino software page. You will see ARDUINO 1.6.4 and off to the right you will have a choice of Windows Installer, Mac OS X, Linux 32bit, Linux 64bit. This is the software that will load firmware for all of the Arduino boards as of now.

You have to download that software to your computer and copy it into a file that you can remember. I use The Windows system so I choose Windows Installer and it downloads to my windows file and puts an Arduino logo on my desktop so I can open up the software by clicking that software.