Help with LCD Setup would be great

Hi all,

First id like to say the work you guys are doing with this tech makes me drool and loose sleep just thinking about all the cool stuff the arduino is capable of.

my reason for posting is im stuck and a total noob, so please be nice - i have looked around the forums but i cant seem to find a soloution to my problem *which is prob so simple nobody except me would have a problem like it.

i just received my (Arduino Kit Mega kit ATmega 1280 128x64 LCD Kit blue) but for the life of me i cant seem to get it to work, i love the simple diagrams that are provided for the tutorial sections on this site and i was wondering if anyone could point me in the direction as to a similar one which will allow me to connect the display to the arduino and just run a real simple "hello world" type program. does anyone know of such a diagram an example being (http://arduino.cc/en/Tutorial/LiquidCrystal) but for my model (Arduino Kit Mega kit ATmega 1280 128x64 ) i got it from ebay the address with further info can be found here (http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=280628614554)

it would mean so much if someone could help me out with this, i have a lot of respect for all you guys and im sure someone outthere can help a poor begger out.

thanks for reading. hope someone can help me out.

Since your 128x64 LCD is a 'Graphical LCD' you could try this library: Arduino Playground - GLCDks0108. You could also try a search for 'Graphical LCD' for for just 'GLCD'.

You might want to start out with a Character Mode LCD as they are a lot easier to program. Any of the models with an HD44780 or compatible controller will do.

Don

Edit: I think I pointed you at an obsolete GLCD library. You want the 'GLCD library version 3' and if you can't find it with a search then it is referenced in the link just above the photograph on the page I recommended above.