Pcb UV Light Box

Hi,

Im planning to make an PCB UV Light Box for pcb fabrication.

I have seen some tutorials in internet and i have an ideia of what i need to do that.

Im thinking about 100 UV led, 50 in each side and another 100 red leds to help with the alignment process.

I have no experience with this amount of leds, if anyone has some experience with this kind of project i will be grateful with your help.

My problem is how to control all this leds (20mA each one)

Wire them up in big long strings. Control voltage will be higher, but each string can share the same 20mA, so the overall current needed is lower.

Hi CrossRoads,

You already help me in the passed and i just want to say thank to always be ready to help newbies like me:)

Your idea is to connect the Leds in parallels? do you think the voltage will increase a lot?
I am also able to use a relay shield with 10A, i have two of them. One the red Leds and other one for the UV Leds.

I have been thinking a little about this project and i decide to change a little:

• Only one side with 100 UV Leds, for the PCB with two side i will do the job in two step
  • i think 50 Red Led it´s enough, it´s just to help the alignment of PCB and transparency paper in a dark room.
  • i will use a switch to cut off the UV Light in case of opening the box in service.

No, wire the LEDs in series.
Say you had a 25V source, and each LED had Vf of 2V.
Then wire:
25V-anode1, cathode1 to anode2, cathode 2 to anode3, ... cathode 12 to resistor, resistor to transistor collector, emitter to Gnd. High on base turns it on, low on base turns it off. Simple 2n2222A NPN transistor with 20mA into its base will do it.
Wire 8 strings like that, all between 25V and transistor collector. 96 LEDs.
20mA each string, 160mA total.
(25V - (12 x 2V) - 0.7V)/.02A = 15 ohm resistor
Do the math for the voltage sourcc you have, Vf of your LEDs, Vce of the transistor you use.

Ok i make the math:

• the power supply will be 24V