ADXL 335 accelerometer MEGA 2560 help

Hey all,

I'm new to the forum and very new to electronics and microcontrollers. This is my first project and unfortunately its been a big one. Payload to put in a rocket, being launched Saturday. Time to ask for some help! haha.

First thing is first, is the accelerometer. I want it to output g forces, so that later we can detect events that occurred. Here is the code:

int xAxisPin = 2;
int yAxisPin = 3;
int zAxisPin = 4;

float xVal;
float yVal;
float zVal;

void setup() {

Serial.begin(9600);
  pinMode(xAxisPin,INPUT);
  pinMode(yAxisPin,INPUT);
  pinMode(zAxisPin,INPUT);

}

void loop() {

// Read the voltage difference

xVal = analogRead(xAxisPin);
  yVal = analogRead(yAxisPin);
  zVal = analogRead(zAxisPin);

// Multiply by 5 volts

xVal = xVal*5/1023;
  yVal = yVal*5/1023;
  zVal = zVal*5/1023;

Serial.print("X Val:  ");
  Serial.print(xVal, DEC);

Serial.print("  Y Val:  ");
  Serial.print(yVal, DEC);

Serial.print("  Z Val:  ");
  Serial.print(zVal, DEC);
  Serial.println();

delay(1000);
}

I'm using this breakout board:

Everything is wired up correctly I am sure of that. I also am aware that all I did was find the voltage difference (correct terms? its 5 am, who cares), hopefully. So I need to convert it to g's but I'm very confused as to how.

Any help would be much appreciated, don't be afraid to talk down to me, if my code is bad etc. I am new so I'm aware I'm not doing much right. Thanks for your time!

The maximum (measuring) rating for this device is only +/- 3.6 - a rocket will do way more than that initially, won't it?

To convert to g, you need to offset the zero g reading (which is half the supply voltage usually), and divide by the sensitivity, which depends on the supply voltage, but is 300mV per g with a 3V supply.
So, if you measure 600mV, you know you're accelerating at 2g.