Need help with adxl335 for measuring displacement

Hi I’m very new to arduino and I need some help with accelerometers. I need to mount an adxl335 on a cantilever and measure the maximum travel both up and down. The entire system will be in motion as it is mounted on a car. I thought of measuring the change in angles but will the motion of the car cause it to give wrong readings? Is there any way in which I can directly measure the travel accurately? Any code or anything will be very useful.

Hi,

Hmm... Do you mean there is an arm or beam of some kind and it moves up and down relative to the car?

Is it like a spring with a weight on the end?

What are you trying to do/measure?

Yes it moves up and down with respect to the car(a small ATV).
It supports the wheel so I want to measure how much it travels.

acesudeep:
want to measure how much it travels.

Relative to what?

Do you mean suspension travel? (That you're trying to measure?)

Yes you will get wrong readings with the car in motion.

If the vehicle was moving, no vibration, and at a constant velocity it would work.
Any minor change in velocity or movement would alter your readings.

Maybe you could use a gyroscope? That would measure rotation while moving. You would then convert the movement into an angle.

i want to measure how much the wheel travels with respect to the roll cage or chassis as it moves up and down.
it isnt exactly suspension travel.
i want to place 2 sensors one on the wheels support member and one on the chassis so i can meassure their relative motion

acesudeep:
i want to measure how much the wheel travels with respect to the roll cage or chassis as it moves up and down.
it isnt exactly suspension travel.
i want to place 2 sensors one on the wheels support member and one on the chassis so i can meassure their relative motion